The Perfect Vehicle!

Topics may eventually be moved to other Delica Canada forums.

Moderators: BCDelica, mark

newdelicafan
Member's Photo Album: http://www.delica.ca/Photos/
Vehicle: Mitsubishi Delica l400 V6 Gas LWB

The Perfect Vehicle!

Post by newdelicafan »

Hi all,
I'm new to the delica world and i'm looking to buy my first Delica. I've done as much research as possible, but as with everything there aren't any clear answers - so i'm coming here for advice!

I'm buying a delica for two reasons - 1. to use as a city vehicle and explore the surrounding amazing landscape of BC. Therefore it'll be used around the city and as a camper. 2. Eventually - when I know my Delica back to front, in 2 or so years i'm looking to do a roadtrip from Vancouver BC down to the Tierra del Fuego. SO, before I buy the van I want to make sure I get the right one!

1. First and foremost - Gas or Diesel. Its an age old question - and currently i'm leaning towards Gas simply for availability of fuel, slightly larger engines, and ease of repair.

2. Which series? I'm looking at the L400s and have been recommended by one mechanic a Series 1 - as they have fewer electronics in the motor. But this older series means finding a clean one is more difficult, and also means all of the vehicles sit in the 1994-1997 range and nothing newer - although there are new imports happening daily.

3. How worried should i be about Mileage? The vehicles all being imported have low mileage but havent had work done on them so will still need a full once over. Is it just as good to buy something with 150,000 + thats got good service history and has had the head gasket, timing belt, etc done? Or given I want to keep it for a few years and do work to it and a roadtrip should i aim for something newer with sub 100,000 kms?!

4. If buying from an importer in Vancouver, BC, there are a lot of dodgy ones out there - i'll of course get a pre-purchase inspection, but is there anything i really need to look for?